RSS

Sushi: Ichiban

02 May

So here’s a case of the scheduled posts!  I had a number of posts queued up, and didn’t want to inundate the readers of Happy Sushi Belly with too many posts at once (let alone my poor Twitter followers!) so I actually wrote this long before it was posted… still, it seems like it was ages ago that Connie and I went to Sushi Ichiban on MacLeod Trail for sushi…  For those of you who read Happy Sushi Belly for the Sushi – I hope you haven’t minded all of my tea posts!  Here’s some sushi for you!

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

We had wanted a sushi fix, but were in the mood for something other than our long-standing favourite places, and didn’t want to drive TOO far to get to some of the places we’ve been meaning to try (or rare visits we’d like to return to).  So, we headed to Sushi Ichiban on MacLeod Trail. Unlike their Westbrook location, the MacLeod Trail location offers All You Can Eat (AYCE) which was great because we were hungry! 

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

We started off with an order of Agadashi Tofu, and Connie had a shrimp tempura while I had a yam.  The tempura was fine – and I really appreciated that they brought us each our own dipping bowl instead of making us share one.  It makes double-dipping more friendly that way. I found the tempura a bit oily – but I usually do, which is why I usually only have a few pieces these days.  The Agadashi Toful seemed to be lacking a bit of flavour though – I think because the first place I tried it was MomoYama, I’ve just come to expect it to taste a certain way…

 Sushi Ichiban

Sushi Ichiban

The decor in Sushi Ichiban is pretty nice – there are a LOT of small ‘rooms’ for groups of people, and then regular booths in the middle.  I’ve been here once before with a group, and it really does make for a fantastic group experience, being in the private booth. Near the end of our meal, a very noisy group of people were seated behind us – and although I don’t deny them their joyful conversations, I got to learn a LOT more about one of the members of the group than I would want to know about a stranger… so this was a bit of a downside to how busy and active the restaurant is. 

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

 While I ordered my favorites; Ikura and chopped scallop, Connie ordered an assortment.  I really liked the Ikura, however they mix their chopped scallop with chopped crab meat as well, and I didn’t like it nearly as much. 

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

Connie had a cone, while we also shared a roll.

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

Of course.. since it was All You Can Eat, we also had a second order of sushi – Tuna for both of us, more of my favorites for me, and Connie’s favorites for her to end off the night.

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

All you can eat from Sushi Ichiban

The bill – since we didn’t have anything other than water to drink, it was just over $50.00 for the two of us.

Sushi Ichiban
4014 Macleod Trail S
Calgary, AB
(403) 243-1000

Sushi Ichiban on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2013 in South-West Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 366 other followers

