RSS

Sushi: Asian Buffet

26 Aug

A while back, we went to the Asian Buffet that is just off MacLeod Trail.  It’s sort of tucked off the main street behind some other retail shops – so it’s a bit hard to find, but the parking is ample and there is loads of seating.

When I first took a look at how many food items they had available, I was really impressed.  Like most buffets there is a policy of ‘take as much as you want, but eat all that you take’ – and they have a wide variety.  There are several soups, a moderate salad bar area, a fairly nicely sized Mongolian Grill kind of section (however the chef was not there to prepare things for us – you had to ring a bell to get them to come while I was there), four tables full of hot items, ranging from ‘western favorites’ like Ginger Fried Beef, to Dim Sum favorites like shrimp, chicken and veggie steamed dumplings.  There was also a table full of desserts, including a cooler with something like 12 different flavours of ice cream.

Sushi and sashimi

There was also a table with sushi and sashimi.

To start off, all of the rolls were very… mass production-looking.  They didn’t look appetizing, and they tasted as good as they looked. (As in, not very tasty).  The nigiri-style sushi came in about 5 flavours, but I only took a salmon.  It was very small (which is fine, since it’s a buffet!) and smelt and tasted “fishy” – which might suggest it wasn’t as fresh as it could have been.  I also chose two pieces of salmon sashimi and tuna sashimi – both also had that ‘fishy’ taste and smell – so I didn’t go back for any more when I went to refill my plate.

So, although the sushi and sashimi wasn’t very good – there were two really good items.  The first was the steamed egg yolk dumpling (which I’d never had before ) which was almost like a custard inside the dumpling.  That’s something I might look for again when at a good Dim Sum place.  Also, the sesame seed ball was really good too.

Overall – most of the food had the taste/texture of food that had been sitting out under a heat lamp for just too long.  There were several items where I had to leave food behind, because after one bite, it was simply not edible to me.

The staff were busy – but not especially friendly or helpful – I ordered just water to drink before I had the chance to read the drink menu, and when I had decided on what drink I wanted – the server never did return.  I also had to go over to a nearby empty table to fetch the water jug to refill my water, and our plates weren’t always taken away promptly.  That being said, it did seem as though in such a large building – that the servers were a bit understaffed – so it’s possible that during a less-busy time the service would improve.

If you have a large family full of people looking for quantity over quality – there is a lot of selection here.  However, since of the wide variety of things to eat – we didn’t really enjoy hardly any of it – we won’t be back.  It’s just not the right place for us.

I read a few other reviews of Asian Buffet after going there, and if I had read them before hand, I likely wouldn’t have ever gone.  Take a read with the Cowtown Epicurean or Chowtown.

Have you been to the Asian Buffet?  What did you think?  Let us know in the comments below!

Asian Buffet
9125 Bonaventure Drive S.E. Unit 23
Calgary, AB T2J 0P5
(403) 252-688

Asian Buffet on Urbanspoon

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2011 in South-East Calgary, Sushi

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

