RSS

Tea: Green Tea Latte

24 Jul

The Extreme Bean Cafe is a nice coffee shop to pop into while walking alongside the river, but a few weeks ago Connie and I headed there after a less-than-satisfying visit to Shikiji for sushi.

Originally we had intended to visit the Naked Leaf - as neither of us had been, and Shikiji isn’t too far away.  However by the time we got to Kensington, the tea shop was closed – so instead of trying to see if Oolong down the street was open, we decided to try for something with better parking, closer to home.

We found ourselves not too far from the intersection of Crowchild Trail and Memorial Drive, and I remembered a cafe where a friend and I would often find ourselves after regular long walks through Edworthy Park and along the river.  The Extreme Bean hasn’t changed much; it still has cozy seating in a small location – but the best seat in the house is still probably take-out, taking the opportunity to sip your beverage along the river.

The one thing that definitely has changed is the menu – there are a whole bunch of new items on their menu from what I remember – salad rolls, noodle dishes, etc…  Of course, we had just had our dinner, and were more looking for a tea and maybe a sweet, so I didn’t spend too much time looking at the other foods.

They didn’t have much in the way of tea, but just as I was about to pick a white peony tea (from Two Leaves and a Bud tea company), I saw that they offered green tea lattes, and we both ordered one.  (None of the desserts were calling out to me, so I skipped that.)

Green Tea Latte

The service was reasonably quick, and the latte was good (though if I had it to do over again I’d add some sweetener to cut the slight bitter taste) though not exceptional. I’d likely head back to Extreme Bean again if walking along the river – though next time I think I’ll try the white peony instead.  Of course, we did get our tea to go, and enjoyed a walk down the river, complete with happy dogs wanting to say hello, the occasional jogger, and a small group of geese (without goslings) who let us know well in advance that this was THEIR territory, and we were only sharing it.

Up for a run along the river? Adventures in Wanderlust blogger was, and stopped into Extreme Bean too.

Extreme Bean Cafe

3303 3 Avenue Northwest
Calgary, AB, Canada
(403) 283-6820

Extreme Bean Eatery on Urbanspoon

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 24, 2011 in North-West Calgary, Tea & Beverages

 

Tags:

One response to “Tea: Green Tea Latte

  1. dangillis

    July 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks for the shout out :) I’m hopefully going to be back in the area in September, which means I’ll likely be running along the river again. I’m hoping this time the weather will be a bit less chilly :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 377 other followers

